How clean is the water in Gabon?

Hey all. I apologize that I’ve been somewhat MIA from the blogosphere lately. This has been due to the time I’ve spent working on the Bongolo Hospital website project. This past week, I ran into some major obstacles and had to devise a completely new way of getting the new design online, which ended up being far different from the original plan. But I’m confident now that this will be a much better solution for the hospital in the future to be able to quickly and easily update the site once I’m gone. The setup is just taking me forever, though, with basically no spare time to use the computer for something other than web programming, like say blogging.

But I have a few minutes to spare today, so I thought I’d ease back into the blogging world with a quick illustration to help answer this simple question: Just how clean is the water in Gabon?

Well, I’ll let you be the judge… 🙂

A nearby creek flowing into the Louetsi River

A nearby creek flowing into the Louetsi River

These are filters that we use to obtain clean, drinkable water in our guesthouse. Once a week, we have the fun task of cleaning these filters, scrubbing off the dirt and slime that has accumulated from one week's worth of use. As you can guess, the one on the left is "pre-cleaning."

These are the filters that we use to turn our tap water into clean, drinkable water in our guesthouse. Once a week, we have the fun task of cleaning these filters, scrubbing off the dirt and slime that has accumulated from one week's worth of use. As you can guess, the one on the left is "pre-cleaned."

Lesson #1 in Gabon (and other third-world countries): Don’t drink the water!

I have about 5 or 6 other blog posts just swimming around in my head, waiting for the time and opportunity to make it out and onto our blog. One of which will hopefully include some video showing last weekend’s adventure of us tubing down the river on this same very lovely water!

Leave a Reply

